→ 5.80 → São João da Madeira → 1.40km → Arrifana

Seehöhe
230
To end of camino
274.40
Bankomat
Yes
Bar
Yes
Lebensmittelgeschäft
Yes
Arztpraxis
Yes
Apotheke
Yes
Öffentliches Schwimmbad
Yes
Restaurant
Yes
Zug
Yes

Wie in den meisten größeren Städten verlieren sich die Pfeile und Muschelsymbole ein bisschen bei all den optischen Ablenkungen.

Der Hauptplatz (Praça Luís Ribeiro) ist eigentlich kein Platz, sondern eher ein großer Kreisverkehr der für Fußgänger neu gestaltet wurde. Erkennbar an der großen Säulenskulptur in der Mitte; ein Denkmal für die Industrie von São João.

Das beste Museum der Stadt und das einzige seiner Art auf der Iberischen Halbinsel ist das Museu da Chapelaria (Hutmachermuseum). Es liegt auf dem Weg aus der Stadt, ist ziemlich schlecht beworben, erweckt den falschen Eindruck geschlossen zu sein, ist aber Ihren Besuch wert.

Geschichte

São João da Madeiras Wachstum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts war das Ergebnis einer einzigen industriellen Anstrengung, nämlich der Herstellung von Hüten. Sie wurden zuerst aus Filz und später aus Pelz hergestellt und als das Tragen von Hüten aus der Mode kam, wechselten die Arbeiter zur Herstellung von Schuhen. São João gilt heute als Hauptstadt der Schuhe.

Wegbeschreibung

Verlassen Sie die Stadt von der Praça Luís Ribeiro entlang der Rua Antonio Jose de Oliveira Junior. Durch Vororte geht es nach Arrifana.

→ 5.80 → São João da Madeira → 1.40km → Arrifana

Altitude
230
To end of camino
274.40
ATM
Yes
Bar
Yes
Grocery
Yes
Medical Center
Yes
Pharmacy
Yes
Public Pool
Yes
Restaurant
Yes
Train
Yes

As with most large towns, the arrows and shells get a bit lost in all of the visual distractions.

The main square (the Praça Luís Ribeiro) is not a square at all but rather a large roundabout re-purposed for pedestrians. It is recognizable for the large column sculpture in the center; a monument celebrating the industry of São João.

The best museum in town and the only one of its kind on the Iberian peninsula is the Museu da Chapelaria (Hat Making Museum). It is on the way out of town, is quite poorly advertised and looks closed to the casual passerby. It is not, and you would be mad to miss it.

History

São João da Madeira’s growth at the end of the 19th century was the result of a single industrial effort, that of making hats. They were first made with felt, and later fur, and when hat wearing fell out of fashion the workers shifted to making shoes. It is now considered the capital of shoes.

The Road

Leave town from the Praça Luís Ribeiro along the Rua Antonio Jose de Oliveira Junior.

It is more suburban walking from here to Arrifana.