→ 0.80 → Barcelos → 2.50km → Vila Boa

Seehöhe
35
To end of camino
186.10
Bankomat
Yes
Bar
Yes
Lebensmittelgeschäft
Yes
Arztpraxis
Yes
Apotheke
Yes
Öffentliches Schwimmbad
Yes
Zug
Yes

Die Ruinen am Eingang der Stadt sind Reste des Palastes eines früheren Herzogs, und obwohl es mehrere Versuche gab, sie nach dem Erdbeben von 1755 wieder aufzubauen, ist heute nur noch das Freiluft-Museum Museo Arqueológico übriggeblieben, mehr ein offener Park als ein formelles Museum.

Der Camino durch die Stadt bietet alle wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten, darunter die Kirche Igreja Matriz gegenüber dem Museum, die Capela da San Francisco, den Torre do Cimo da Vila (der die beste Aussicht auf die Stadt bietet, sowie eine kleine Kunsthandwerksausstellung), die  Igreja do Senhor Bom Jesus da Cruz (erbaut an einem Ort, an dem ein großes irdenes Kreuz auf mysteriöse Weise erschien, aber 200 Jahre nach dessen Sichtung von 1504) und die Confraria de Nossa Senhora do Terço mit ihrer spektakulären Holzdecke und den Azulejo-Wandfliesen.

Sie bemerken möglicherweise in der Stadt eine Fülle von großen bunten Bildern von  „Galos“ (Gockelhähnen), die sich auf eine wundersame Legende beziehen. Anders als bei den ähnlichen Legenden von Santo Domingo de la Calzada und Toulouse fehlt hier das Element von Santiago als Retter. Auf jeden Fall erwachte das Brathuhn auch in dieser Version wieder zum Leben, als Beweis der Unschuld und der Hahn dient seitdem als Symbol von Barcelos (und oft auch von Portugal).

Feiertage

Das Fest des Kreuzes findet am 3. Mai in der Kirche Igreja do Bom Jesus da Cruz statt. 

Jeden Donnerstag Markt in der Parkanlage gegenüber der Kirche Bom Jesus.

Wegbeschreibung

Frische Pfeile und Wegweiser leiten den Weg durch die Stadt, vorbei an der Kirche Igreja do Bom Jesus da Cruz und dem großen Marktplatz gegenüber (Markt am Donnerstag).

0.80km → Barcelos → Vila Boa
To Santiago: 
186.10
Altitude: 
35

The ruins at the entrance to town are from the palace of a former Duke, and although there were several attempts to rebuild it subsequent to the earthquake of 1755 the only thing we are left with today is the open air Museo Arqueológico, which is more like an open park than a formal museum. 

The camino through town hits all of the major highlights, including the Igreja Matriz opposite the museum, the Capela da San Francisco, the Torre do Cimo da Vila (which offers the best view of the city as well as a small handicrafts exhibition), the Igreja do Senhor Bom Jesus da Cruz (constructed at the location where a large earthen cross mysteriously appeared, but 200 years after its 1504 sighting), and the Confraria de Nossa Senhora do Terço with its spectacular wooden ceiling and wall to wall azulejos tiling.

You may notice an abundance of large colorful galos (roosters) around town. A miracle not unlike that of the hanged innocent is set in Barcelos but lacks the element of St. James as savior as the tales told in Santo Domingo and Toulouse do. In any event, the rooster sprang back to life, proof of innocence and ever since the symbol of Barcelos (and often Portugal) in the process.

Fiesta: 

The Feast of the Cross is held on May 3rd at the Igreja do Bom Jesus.

Market every Thursday in the feria space opposite the Igreja.

The Road: 

A fresh set of arrows and signs direct the way through town, past the Igreja Senhor da Cruz and the large market square opposite it (open on Thursdays).

TabGroup

Services
ATM: 
Yes
Bar: 
Yes
Grocery: 
Yes
Pharmacy: 
Yes
Medical Center: 
Yes
Train: 
Yes
Photo in Barcelos on the Camino de Santiago
Photo in Barcelos on the Camino de Santiago
Photo in Barcelos on the Camino de Santiago
Accommodation in Barcelos

Comments

Camino de Santi... (not verified) said:

We stayed at the In Barcelos Hostel and Guest House and it was delightful - very new, clean and efficient. Inexpensive for a private room and bathroom, right on the Camino in very charming Barcelos and a decent breakfast buffet.

Camino de Santi... (not verified) said:

Please be aware the ATM as we left town ‘skimmed ‘ our bank card. Could happen anywhere but it happened to us here. It was after MacDonalds.