→ 6.50 → Ribadesella → 3.50km → San Pedro de Leces

Seehöhe
15
To end of camino
409.50
Bankomat
Yes
Bar
Yes
Bushaltestelle
Yes
Busbahnhof
Yes
Postamt
Yes
Lebensmittelgeschäft
Yes
Arztpraxis
Yes
Apotheke
Yes
Restaurant
Yes
Zug
Yes

Bei Städten die durch einen Fluss geteilt werden ist es manchmal schwierig die Energie aufzubringen, um "die andere Seite" zu erkunden. Ribadesella ist so ein Fall, und wenn man auf der Ostseite des Flusses bleibt wird man den wunderschönen Strand Playa de Santa Marina verpassen.

Jedoch wenn Sie bei der Albergue bleiben, sind Sie zwar dann genau dort, aber verpassen die Altstadt mit ihren vielen alten Herrenhäusern, die Iglesia de Santa María Magdalena (die auch als Pilgerkrankenhaus diente) und die Capilla Santa Ana, sowie einen schönen Spaziergang auf den Gipfel des Monte Corberu, um die Ermita de Nuestra Señora de Guía (eine Renaissancekapelle aus dem 16. Jahrhundert) zu besichtigen.

Feiertage

San Antón wird am 17. Januar gefeiert, San Juan am 24. Juni, La Virgen de la Guía im Juli und Santa Marina am 25. August.

Geschichte

Als sich die Römer hier niederließen teilten sie die Bevölkerung, um auf jedem Flussufer eine Stadt zu gründen. Als Alfons X. (der Weise) im 13. Jahrhundert hierher kam, vereinte er beide. Für eine Küstenstadt gab es großen natürlichen Reichtum. Historisch gesehen haben die Stadtbewohner den Wohlstand genossen, der vom Fluss kam in Form von Walfang (die Wale überwintern hier), Lachsfischen und Holztransport.

Wegbeschreibung

Die Stadt Ribadesella wird vom Río Sella durchschnitten, an dessen Ostufer sich die Altstadt, auf der Westseite die Erweiterung entlang des Strandes erstreckt. Der Camino überquert den Fluss entlang der Straße und biegt danach rechts ab. Die Pfeile zeigen den Weg parallel zum Strand durch die Stadt.

Am Ende der Stadt steigt er leicht an und beginnt einer Landstraße zu folgen die den Hang quert. Er passiert einen Kreisverkehr und den Campingplatz Los Sauces und führt weiter nach San Pedro.

6.50km → Ribadesella → 3.50km → San Pedro de Leces
To Santiago: 
409.50
Altitude: 
15

Like most towns divided by a river, it is sometimes difficult to work up the strength to go exploring “the other side.” Ribadesella is that way, and if you stay on the east side of the river you will miss out on the wonderful Playa de Santa Marina.

On the other hand if you stay in the albergue you will be right on top of it but miss out on the old town with its many old manor homes, the Iglesia de Santa María Magdalena (which also served as a pilgrim hospital) and the Capilla Santa Ana, as well as a nice stroll to the top of Mount Corberu to visit the Ermita de Nuestra Señora de Guía (a 16th century Renaissance chapel).

Fiesta: 

San Antón is celebrated on the 17th of January, San Juan on the 24th of June, La Virgen de la Guia in July, and Santa Marina on the 25th of August.

History: 

When the Romans settled here they divided the population to form a town on each bank. When Alfonso X (the wise) came around in the 13th century he united them. As coastal towns go it was one of great natural wealth. Historically the townspeople have enjoyed the prosperity that comes from the river in the form of whaling (the whales hibernated here), salmon fishing, and logging.

The Road: 

The city of Ribadesella is bisected by the Río Sella, on the east back of which is the old town and the west bank its expansion along the beachfront. The camino crosses the river along the road and turns right once across. The arrows point the way along the beach through town.

At the far end of town it climbs slightly and begins to follow a country road as it traverses the hillside. It passes a roundabout and the campsite of Los Sauces and continues to San Pedro.

TabGroup

Services
ATM: 
Yes
Bar: 
Yes
Grocery: 
Yes
Pharmacy: 
Yes
Medical Center: 
Yes
Correos: 
Yes
Train: 
Yes
Bus: 
Yes
Bus Terminal: 
Yes

Accommodation in Ribadesella

Comments

Camino de Santi... (not verified) said:

The hotel gran sella allows non-residents to use their spa for €15, open from 10-10 I think but closed on Sunday afternoon and Monday morning, I went on a Sunday morning and was the only one in there! Bliss after several days of 40km+ walking per day! :-)