3.30km → Ribadeo → Vilela
To Santiago: 
186.80
Seehöhe: 
35

Erbaut auf dem Hügel der von der Flussmündung aufsteigt, erscheint es als ob es in Ribadeo überall bergauf ginge.

In der Innenstadt ist der Convento de Santa Clara (15. Jahrhundert mit Kreuzgang aus dem 18. Jahrhundert) der Grundstein der Kirche, während die Casa de Indiano von 1910, bekannt als Torre dos Moreno, ein mächtiges Denkmal des Kapitalismus ist; ein Plan zu dessen Renovierung ist in Arbeit.

Wenn Sie in der städtischen Albergue schlafen, könnten Sie einen Spaziergang (3,5 km hin und zurück) zum Leuchtturm von Ribadeo (Illa Pancha) auf der Küstenstraße nahe der Albergue unternehmen. Auf dem Weg dorthin befindet sich das Castillo de San Damián, in dem manchmal... (continued in Camino App and Book)

Hinweis: 

Die Jakobsmuscheln auf den Meilensteinen in Galicien sind nicht auf Santiago ausgerichtet und wenn Sie aus Asturien kommen, wo es so ist, könnte es etwas verwirrend sein. Denken Sie daran, den Pfeilen zu folgen und die Ausrichtung der Muscheln zu ignorieren.

Wegbeschreibung: 

Der Camino durch Ribadeo wurde in den letzten Jahren umgeleitet und folgt nun einer Route hinunter zum Wasser und dann wieder zurück. Natürlich ist es immer noch möglich, den alten Weg zu gehen und den Höhenunterschied zu vermeiden. Wenn Sie wollen, biegen Sie an der ersten großen Kreuzung...

Geschichte: 

Ribadeo hatte seit Jahrhunderten eine wechselvolle Beziehung zum Camino. Bevor die Brücke gebaut wurde, war es schwierig, den breiten Fluss zu überqueren. Viele PilgerInnen machten die Überfahrt, aber die Mehrheit ging nach Süden, um dem Weg des geringsten Widerstandes zu folgen zu einer viel...

TabGroup

Services
Bankomat: 
Yes
Bar: 
Yes
Lebensmittelgeschäft: 
Yes
Apotheke: 
Yes
Arztpraxis: 
Yes
Postamt: 
Yes
Bushaltestelle: 
Yes

Comments

Camino de Santi... (not verified) said:

I decided to walk along the coast and visit Playa de Catedrais. The name of the alternative route is Camino natural de la Ruta del Cantabrico (red marks start under the bridge in Ribadeo). It joins Camino del Norte en Vilanova. In total it is 20 km extra. If you want to walk along the coast longer and have a chance to visit Playa de Catedrais I highly recomend it. Just keep in mind that the Playa de Catedrais is accesible only when the tide is low (check the timetable). I couldn’t find the alternative route in this map but I had in my other app Mapy.cz

Ribadeo | Wise Pilgrim Guidebooks for the Camino de Santiago
3.30km → Ribadeo → Vilela
To Santiago: 
186.80
Altitude: 
35

Built on the hillside that rises up from the estuary, it is easy to feel like everywhere in Ribadeo is uphill.

In the city center, the Convento de Santa Clara (15th century with 18th century cloister) is the cornerstone of the church, while the 1910 Casa de Indianos known as the Torre dos Moreno is a mighty monument to capitalism; a plan to rescue it is underway.

Notice: 

The scallop shells in Galicia are not installed with an orientation towards Santiago and having come from Asturias where they are it might be a bit confusing. Just remember to follow the arrow and ignore the shell.

The Road: 

The camino through Ribadeo has been re-routed in recent years and now follows a route down to the waterfront and then back up. Of course, it is still possible to go the old way and avoid the elevation change. If that suits you, turn right at the first big intersection after you pass under the...

History: 

Ribadeo has had an on-again/off-again relationships with the camino for centuries. Prior to the bridge being built the broad river hear mean a difficult river crossing. Many pilgrims made the crossing but many more turned south to follow the path of least resistance, a much shorter bridge...

TabGroup

Services
ATM: 
Yes
Bar: 
Yes
Grocery: 
Yes
Pharmacy: 
Yes
Medical Center: 
Yes
Correos: 
Yes
Bus: 
Yes